What is the cost of car insurance in my state? 

Car insurance costs vary greatly by state. Learning your state's insurance requirements and other rules is key to saving money and protecting yourself and others.

 

Why do I need to know the insurance laws in my state?

Knowing the laws of your state is helpful with regard to automotive insurance, because you are generally forced to buy the minimum limits of liability of your state. Minimum liability is not sufficient for many countries to prevent overhead expenditures if you are involved in a major accident. You will have to pay any amount out of pocket when medical expenses are more than what you are insured for.

What are the lowest auto insurance states?

 

Everyone hopes that they live with inexpensive vehicle insurance in a state. Check that for full coverage insurance you dwell in the top ten cheapest states:

 

  • Maine

  • Ohio

  • Wisconsin

  • Idaho

  • Iowa

  • Vermont

  • Virginia

  • New Hampshire

  • Indiana

  • North Dakota

 

The average cost of the 10 lowest-cost countries in the United States is around 30 percent below the national average. In the 10 most economical states, vehicle insurance is therefore much more reasonable, especially for those with a solid history of driving.These states provide the least price auto insurance for a number of reasons. According to the Insurance Information Institute, a few states, Maine, Vermont and North Dakota, have very limited drivers (III). Many of these countries are situated in non-severe weather-prone zones as well, such as hurricanes, that may damage a car easily.

What are the most costly auto insurance states?

 

Car insurance isn't inexpensive in every state, unfortunately. Auto coverage may actually be quite costly depending on your place of residence. The top 10 automobile insurance states are the following:

 

 

Let's compare the average auto insurance price in other countries with the US average national. The typical US driver spends $1,555 for complete insurance, which indicates that the rate in the top 10 of the world's highest prices is 37% more than the country's average.

 

So what makes auto insurance in these places so costly? One is that many of these countries are in locations where the weather is severe. The hurricanes and floods that can cause automobile damage particularly in Texas, Louisiana and Florida. In addition, the four countries with the greatest number of uninsured drivers include Florida and Michigan.

No Fault States

 

Some states are classified as non-fault countries, meaning an insurance claim is needed irrespective of blame after every accident. Due to this rule, all drivers in non-fault countries must be covered by their insurance plans for personal injury protection (PIP). The no-fault are 12 U.S. states:

 

Car Insurance Requirements, by State

As previously mentioned, car insurance is required in almost all states. Known as a mandatory minimum, drivers must purchase and maintain a certain level of car insurance from an insurance company in case of an accident or injury to another person or property. If you fail to maintain coverage, you could be in violation of the law. There are a handful of states that don't require you to purchase car insurance, but instead, show evidence of financial responsibility in some other way, such as with a surety bond, a cash deposit with the state, or a certificate of self insurance.

 

Most insurance policies express the minimum amounts like this: 25/50/25 ($25,00/$50,000/$25,000), with the numbers corresponding to the individuals:
 

  1. Personal injury damages
     

  2. All personal injury damages for one particular accident, and
     

  3. All property damages for one accident.

Below, you will find a state-by-state chart of car insurance laws, including the type of liability insurance you are required to carry and basic minimums for each coverage type. Remember, these are only minimums and you may wish to purchase additional coverage depending on your specific needs. Also, please note that state laws are always subject to change, usually through the enactment of new legislation but also through court decisions and other means. Please contact an appropriate legal or insurance professional to verify the laws in your state:

Alabama
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability Limits: 25/50/25

Alaska
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability: 50/100/25

Arizona
  • Require Coverage: 

  • Minimum Liability: 15/30/10

Arkansas
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/25

California
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability: 15/30/5

 

Colorado
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/15

Connecticut
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability: 20/40/10

 

Delaware
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection

  • Minimum Liability: 15/30/10

 

District of Columbia
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/10 AND

    • uninsured motorist of $25,000

    • uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
      $50,000

    • uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
      $5,000

    • uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage coverage per accident

 

Florida
  • Require Coverage: Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection

  • Minimum Liability: 10/20/10

 

Georgia
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50 per incident/25

Hawaii
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection

  • Minimum Liability: 20/40/10

 

Idaho
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/10

 

Illinois
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/20, Uninsured motorist is $25,000 per person, $50,000 total per accident.

Indiana
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/10, Uninsured motorist is equal to the minimum limits for liability coverage

Iowa
  • Require Coverage: All motorists must be able to prove financial responsibility in the event of an accident. If you do purchase car insurance, at a minimum must buy Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability: Insurance not compulsory, but if you do purchase, must be 25/40/15

Kansas
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/25, and Personal injury protection (PIP or No Fault)

    • Uninsured/Underinsured

      • $25,000/person

      • $50,000/accident

    • Survivor Benefits: Disability/loss of income up to $900/month for one year

      • In-home services up to $25/day for one year

      • $4,500/person for medical expenses
      • $900/month for one year for disability/loss of income
      • $25/day for in-home services
      • $2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation expense
      • $4,500 for rehabilitation expense

 

Kentucky
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/10 and 10 (personal injury protection)

Louisiana
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability: 15/30/25

Maine
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability: 50/100/25 plus:

    • $50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person

    • $100,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident

    • $2,000 medical payments coverage

Maryland
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability: 30/60/15

Massachusetts
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability: 20/40/5 and

    • ​$20,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person

    • $40,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident

    • $8,000 personal injury protection

Michigan
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection

  • Minimum Liability: 20/40/10

Minnesota
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability:30/60/10, Liability, Personal Injury Protection

    • $20,000 for medical coverage.

    • $20,000 for loss of income

    • Uninsured Motorist 25/50.

Mississippi
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/25

Missouri
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/10 and uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 for bodily injury per person and $50,000 for bodily injury per accident

Montana
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/10

Nebraska
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/25

Nevada
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability: 15/30/10

New Hampshire
  • Require Coverage: Not required to purchase car insurance, but if you do, there are mandatory minimums

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/25

New Jersey
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection

  • Minimum Liability: 15/30/5 and $15,000 personal injury protection

New Mexico
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/10

New York
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/10

North Carolina
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability: 30/60/25

North Dakota
  • Require Coverage: Demonstrate Financial Responsibility (FR) or maintaining minimum insurance

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/25, uninsured motorist must be $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident.

Ohio
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/35

 

Oklahoma
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/25

No, see Oklahoma Department of Public Safety

 

Oregon
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/25

Pennsylvania
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection

  • Minimum Liability:15/30/5

Rhode Island
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/25

 

South Carolina
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/25

 

South Dakota
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/25

Tennessee
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/15

Texas
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability,

  • Minimum Liability: 30/60/25

Utah
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection

  • Minimum Liability: 25/65/15

Vermont
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/10

 

Virginia
  • Require Coverage: Can either purchase minimum liability or pay uninsured motorist fee

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/20

Washington
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/10

 

West Virginia
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/25

Wisconsin
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability: 10/25/50

Wyoming
  • Require Coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

  • Minimum Liability: 25/50/20